The Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians licenses:
Hearing Aid Specialists | Opticians
Applicants must read and understand Board Regulations. Application fees are not refundable.
DPOR Boards only accept the most recent versions of the applications provided below. DPOR Boards are not responsible for processing delays associated with forms that do not conform to this requirement.
The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall provides access to the board's meeting schedule, agendas, and past meeting minutes.
Visit the Town Hall: http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewboard.cfm?boardid=13&display=meetings
Hearing Aid Specialists | Opticians
Applicants must obtain approval from the Board prior to taking the exam.
Written and practical examination each administered three times a year.Practical Exam February 1, 2016June 13, 2016October 12, 2016
Written Exam March 2, 2016July 13, 2016November 9, 2016
View the International Hearing Society (IHS) Study Guide.
To check on the status of your application, contact the Board's Licensing Section at (804) 367-8509 or BCHOPLicensing@dpor.virginia.gov.
WRITTEN EXAM (ABO/NCLE)Administered four times a year.February 12-29, 2016May 6-23, 2016August 12-29, 2016November 4-21, 2016Visit ABO/NCLE website for registration deadlines.**
PRACTICAL EXAM (opticians & contact lens)March 11, 2016 August 12, 2016 December 2, 2016
View the ABO/NCLE Exam Handbook.
You may reach us by phone at 804-367-8509 (Licensing Section) or 804-367-8590 (Board Office), by FAX at (866) 245-9693, or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. Additionally, if you have information that you would like to mail to the Board, please send it to:Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and OpticiansDepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233
The Board members do not work in the Board office. They come into the Board offices for Board meetings and hearings, but are not here on a daily basis. Board office staff members can answer your questions and are trained to process all information that comes into the Board office. Please do not contact Board members directly.
No. State law prohibits any person from practicing as a Hearing Aid Specialist or Optician in Virginia without a license issued by the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians.
Yes. Qualified individuals may be issued a temporary permit. Please refer to the board regulations for more information.
No. Although Board staff makes every effort to send letters of certification out in five business days, our official turnaround time is 30 days. Certifications are processed in the order they are received.
Contact the state or jurisdiction in which you are seeking licensure. That state might request proof of your Virginia license, which you can request from the Board using the Certification Request Form.
Send in the renewal fee, make checks payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, and include your license/certificate number on your check. Please complete a Name/Address Change Form if you have moved or changed your name. Mail this information to:Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and OpticiansDepartment of Professional and Occupational Regulation9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, VA 23233
You CANNOT continue to practice in Virginia after your license has expired.
No. The Board's regulations allow a 30-day grace period in which a license may be renewed without penalty (therefore, your payment is actually 31 days late). Staff cannot waive the fee. Board regulations state that if the requirements for renewal of a license, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not complete within 30 days of the expiration date, a reinstatement fee is required.
Yes. Board regulations state that failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.
The date the application or renewal was received in the agency determines whether it is on time, not the postmark date. If the renewal fee is received after the due date, you will be required to pay the reinstatement fee. If the reinstatement fee is received after the due date, you will be required to reapply for licensure, meeting all current requirements.
Many Boards allow you to update your ADDRESS using Online Services, so login to your personal profile to see if this is an option for your license type. The alternative is to complete, print, sign, and submit an Address Change Form to the Board office by mail. Unless updated online, all Address Change Forms must be received by the Board in writing. When providing a post office box as the mailing address, it must be accompanied by the physical address.
To report a NAME CHANGE: complete, print, sign, and submit a Name Change Form to the Board office. All name changes must be received by the Board in writing. Individual name change requests must be accompanied by a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, or other official documentation that verifies the name change.
Yes, we strive to make the application process as fast and convenient as possible. You may scan the application or document into a PDF (not password-protected) or take a clear photo in JPG or GIF format and e-mail to BCHOPLicensing@dpor.virginia.gov
Make sure that the scans or photos are high quality and easy to read. We cannot accept scans or photos of poor quality that are are crooked, blurry, cut off, shadowed, etc. The resolution must be good enough to show clearly all text, images, markings, and seals visible on the original paper document. Essentially, when printed, the image must look like a photocopy of the original application or document.
Remember to include all pages of multi-page documents and both sides of double-sided documents. If a scanned document is not acceptable, we will request a new, higher quality image or ask you to send it to us in a different way (such as by fax or regular mail).
Demetrios J. Melis
Board members are appointed by the Governor. To learn more about the gubernatorial appointment process, visit the Secretary of the Commonwealth's website.
DPOR stands ready to assist veterans and active-duty military personnel as they maintain or transition to civilian careers requiring professional credentials.
Active-duty military personnel and their spouses having served outside the U.S., as well as certain diplomatic service members and veterans, may be eligible to receive up to a five-year extension for meeting license renewal requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-117 of the Code of Virginia).
Spouses of active-duty military personnel assigned to a duty station in Virginia are eligible for expedited processing using the Military Spouse Expedited License Application (PDF). A temporary, non-renewable six-month license for certain military spouses licensed in another state who need more time to meet Virginia-specific requirements may also be an option.
For honorably discharged veterans, “substantially equivalent” military training, education, or experience may be credited toward certain license requirements (pursuant to Section 54.1-118).In addition, the Virginia Department of Veterans Affairs may reimburse veterans for the cost of license or certification exams. See the VA Pamphlet 22-02-1 for more information.
Don't have them yet? Don't worry. You will be able to create your profile and complete registration from the login page.
please contact us in writing or via telephone and we will work with you to make the information available.